Gillette Safety Razor [1912]


This little gem from the archives is 100 years old this year. Lost to most of us today is the man who popularized the safety razor, King Camp Gillette. He’s got his picture right on the package! He brought us the thin, disposable type of razor rather than the long 6-inch kind that made Sweeney Todd’s clients so uncomfortable. 12 blades sold for $1 in 1912 which is about $22 if you take into account inflation.

Gillett Safety Razor - 1912

Gillett Safety Razor - 1912

Good news though! No special preparation necessary or training necessary! Just a good, good lather but for the LOVE OF GOD DON’T FORGET TO RUB IT IN! I have no idea why the emphasis on the rubbing as indicated by the italics. Perhaps there was a special Gillette lather rubbing kit sold separately.

10 Comments

Filed under Peronsal Grooming, Shaving

10 responses to “Gillette Safety Razor [1912]

  1. I like that they make it a point to say the “habitable” globe. I would assume that where there are retail stores, there are people. 🙂

  2. You have been chosen to receive the Kreativ Blogger Award! 🙂 Please visit the link below to learn more about the award. Congratulations!
    http://fourbluehills.com/2012/01/12/kreativ-blogger-award/

  3. Love all of these classic ads thanks for sharing.

  4. Sank

    I just bought a “safety razor” a few weeks ago.. I could be on your site!

  5. Hi Rob,
    I took time during my tea break to meander through your posts. ‘For the love of God, don’t rub it in.’ had me chuckling. I guess this comes from a man of experience? It certainly gave me visions of watering eyes. However, I am a woman, what do I know about shaving, other than, wash your hands immediately after using aftershave.
    Good day to you and best regards.

    Talia.

Leave a Reply

