Popeye the Movie – It yis what it yis. [1980]


Today’s ad from the dim and misty past comes with an embarrassing personal anecdote. People always talk about the first bit of recorded music they bought as a child. I’ve heard Bob Marley, REO Speedwagon, The Monkees, or even Bing Crosby (from the older set). The first music you actually bothered to spend money on as a child can say a lot about you. I, sadly, am always forced to admit that the fist music I bought on purpose was the sound-track to this movie. It was 99 cents at Woolworths and I bought it proudly home when I was apparently not old enough to know any better. Interestingly, I’m fairly certain that I hadn’t actually seen the movie.

Popeye - 1980

Popeye - 1980

I don’t think I need to point out that this movie was NOT the entertainment event of the season. I must admit though… pretty good music.

9 Comments

Filed under Movies

9 responses to “Popeye the Movie – It yis what it yis. [1980]

  1. Funny post. I may have to rent this movie because now I’m very interested.

  2. Nice Blog – I am going to Follow! Here are some newspaper adverts from 1965 that I found in my dad’s scrap book. They were in a copy of a newspaper that reported the funeral of Winson Churchill. http://aipetcher.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/newspaper-clothing-adverts-1965/

  3. First time I have happened upon your blog and I have so enjoyed looking at your nostalgic advertising images. Gave me a fulfilling way to start the morning!

  4. This is one of my favorite movies from a kid and seeing this add has brought back some nice memories. Thank you for writing about it.

  5. Val

    Don’t worry… the first record I ‘bought’ (or had bought for me at my request, rather) was ‘Alvin’s Harmonica’… sort of chipmunk voices out of tune. I believe I still have the record somewhere.

  6. V

    The poster alone is just so much wonderful cheese – and such a cute story. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s ok, the first music I ever purchased was Aqua’s Aquarium on cassette…

Leave a Reply

